The Yes Girl

I haven’t watched Jim Carrey’s Yes Man but my friend was telling me it was about this guy who says no to everything and then goes to this seminar thing where he is told that in order to truly live life, he should start saying yes. So he does that, he starts saying yes to each and every opportunity and his life changes for the better. Sorry for the spoiler but the movie is quite old I believe and those of you who would have wanted to watch it would have already done so and those like me who haven’t, well, if you’re reading this, it’s too late (geddit? Drake reference?)

I am the opposite of Jim Carrey’s character. I can’t say no. I am the actual yes girl. And I hate that. It has gotten so bad that now when I say no to a plan or a suggestion, people look at me surprised, they can’t fathom the fact that my mouth actually formed into an O and produced the no sound when they are accustomed to me saying yes. And while everyone is blinking their eyes,still unable to comprehend, I get all flustered and reply “Ok yeah, let’s do it.” So, in the end, I end up acquiescing to whatever’s up.

49774-Emma-Stone-yes-gif-Ss8U

It’s not that I am getting forced or people drag me. It’s the fact that I feel I am getting forced into doing something. And I often question why I can never say no. Is it because I am a people pleaser? Or is it because I am a don’t want to offend people-er? I like to believe that I am the latter. I care way too much for people’s feelings. And no, I am not complaining. I wouldn’t want to hurt anyone intentionally or not. But I have realized you can’t really please everyone.And even if you try, you don’t end up pleasing yourself. Which comes back to what I am trying to put across : Saying yes to every one and everything, even if you don’t want to doesn’t make you happy. But saying no sounds stuck-up and selfish.

For as long as I remember, my friends would come up with something, like going somewhere or working together in a group project and suggesting an idea, and while I would try to explain why it wasn’t such a good idea or something to improve to get better grades, they would just override it and continue doing what they liked. And it left me with feelings of anguish and helplessness because hey, I am getting graded for the assignment as well and I know that your idea is not good,so shut up and listen to mine but majority rules and damn it, the majority’s opinion suck!!!

It’s too late for me to start being the no girl and personally saying no to everything will lead to a boring life, so no, don’t say no. But say no once in a while. I am trying my best to practice but it is not working out as I would like to. I wish I was strong enough to say no. I wish I was strong enough to not care for others and care for myself once in a while. For now, I know the very first trait I shall be inculcating in the future generations : the ability to say no.

***Image and gif via Google Images

6 thoughts on “The Yes Girl

  1. I don’t think its too late for you to start saying no. I think you should try it and not let the confused look on peoples’ faces phase you. There is a certain strength that comes from being able to say no and standing by that decision. 🙂 Strongs.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. You are right. I guess that is where I falter when people start getting annoyed at me and I don’t want them to be. But you are right. I have to stay strong and stand by my decision. Thanks for stopping by 🙂

      Like

  2. Great post! It is important to take control of your life and decide what merits a yes! People tend to take advantage if you always say yes and it is horrible. I am also trying to implement this into my life and trying to be more firm by saying no to things that I don’t want to do.

    Nihaad – the little blog of STUFF

    Liked by 1 person

  3. There is no problem in being ‘yes’ girl, it just means how soft hearted you are to say no to people that could hurt them or make them sad, a sign of over sensitive person! Sometimes people can be mean to us and take davantage , MAy Allah give us ajar for that ! ( btw I am also yes girl, learning to say ‘No’ sometimes where it is absolutely required ) , loved your blog and nice to find you here ! Take Care!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment